Planets or Celestial Bodies
What are the Planets according to Western Astrology?

In modern Western astrology each planet or celestial body represent basic drives or impulses in the human psyche. These planets differ from the definition of a planet in astronomy in that the sun, moon are all considered to be planets for the purposes of astrology.

Each planet (Mars, Venus, Mercury, Moon, Sun, Jupiter, Saturn) is also said to be the ruler of one or two zodiac signs, on the basis of a similarity or sympathy between planet and star sign.


Planets in Western Astrology

Western Planet - Mars
Mars, Ardent
Mars is the lesser malific.
Urge for action, personal energy and drive, more about Mars
Western Planet - Venus
Venus, Generous
Venus is the lesser benefic.
Relationships and partnerships of all kinds, romantic love, more about Venus
Western Planet - Mercury
Mercury, Inconstant
Mercury is the curious planet.
Mentality, communication (especially for short distances), more about Mercury
Western Planet - Moon
Moon, Luna
The Moon is the melancholic celestial body.
Inner feeling, moods, more about Moon
Western Planet - Sun
Sun, Sol
The Sun is favourable and benign.
Personal strength, vitality and achievement, more about Sun
Western Planet - Jupiter
Jupiter, Temperate
Jupiter is the greater benefic.
Personal growth and expansion, aspirations, more about Jupiter
Western Planet - Saturn
Saturn, Morose
Saturn is the greater malefic.
Personal limitations and structure, sense of responsibility, more about Saturn

What is Western Astrology?
Western Astrological Signs and Symbols

Western Astrology is the belief in which knowledge of the apparent relative positions of celestial bodies is useful in understanding and interpreting information about personality and human behavior.

Each Planet plays an important part in understanding our personality characteristics and has a significant spiritual meaning in Western Astrology.

What are my Astrology Signs and Symbols?